• increase font size
  • Default font size
  • decrease font size
Home Badil News 2014 Al-Awda Award Best Journalistic Story: The Winners

2014 Al-Awda Award Best Journalistic Story: The Winners

Print PDF

BADIL is happy to announce the names of the winners of the 2014 Al-Awda Award in the category of Best Journalistic Story. The 32 entries received addressed the issue of practical return in terms of mechanisms, methods and consequences.

The independent jury included three Palestinian journalists: Khalil Shaheen, Abed Al-Naser Al-Najjar, and Najeeb Farraj. The jury members reviewed the submissions based on the conditions of the competition and recommended that the selected top three stories to be utilized for advocacy and awareness raising to strengthen the culture of return.

Based on their evaluation, they announced the following winners:

  1. First place: Mr. Sayyed Zakaryya Sayyed Ismael from Gaza, the author of “Hassan Hijazzi, the first Palestinian refugee to return to his town, Yaffa”;
  2. Second place: Mr. Tha’er Saleh Thabet from Nablus, the author of “When the country’s land go mad”;
  3. Third place: Mr. Bashar Mustafa Daraghmeh from Nablus, the author of “Abu Arab … 3D return”.

The jury also recommended publishing another seven entries after necessary editing.